7 at random…

31 Days of BloggingSo the challenge is to write a blog post every day for the next 31 days.  I found it on pinterest (I am a pinterest-junkie), and although it is meant to be done from the 1st of a month, I figured – “Why not start today?”

So here goes:

Day 1 – A self-portrait and Five Random Facts About me.  Hmmmm, since I am the 7th Child, I will go my own way and do a Selfie and 7 random facts about me – and try to make a meaningful point as I go along 😉

#Selfie 20150822_191403

Just Se7en.  Just Nics ~ no makeup, no bells and whistles.  Just me.  I think of myself as being a very ‘real’ person.  I tell people I am just me, I like to keep it real and honest and I don’t pretend to be what I’m not.   I am proud of who I am, my journey and being the work in progress that I am.  I have made some hellish mistakes in my life and I have had some amazing accomplishments.   I am always willing to sit down and share the real, raw facts that make up who I am with anyone who needs to hear it and learn from my lessons in life and to know that they are not alone in their journey.  To me, The Best is yet to Be…

“Take a good look, friends, at who you were when you got called into this life. I don’t see many of “the brightest and the best” among you, not many influential, not many from high-society families. Isn’t it obvious that God deliberately chose men and women that the culture overlooks and exploits and abuses, chose these “nobodies” to expose the hollow pretensions of the “somebodies”? That makes it quite clear that none of you can get by with blowing your own horn before God. Everything that we have—right thinking and right living, a clean slate and a fresh start—comes from God by way of Jesus Christ. That’s why we have the saying, “If you’re going to blow a horn, blow a trumpet for God.” 1 Corinthians 1: 26-31 MSG

FB_IMG_14388662417731.     I was born and raised in Jamaica.  I am a proud #Yardie and I will tell you quite honestly, that the quote that says, “Being Jamaican isn’t just a nationality, it’s an experience…  You have to live it to understand” is 100% true.  Being Jamaican is one of the things that makes me special – and I am proud to be a part of such a vibrant, rich culture and experience.  I love almost everything about my country, the beauty of the island, the food, the music, and the people, and the strength and determination that makes us who we are…

smiley1I have been known to say that I think God is Jamaican…

“But Noah was different. God liked what he saw in Noah.”  Genesis 6: 8 MSG

shutterstock_32993452

2.    I am a Realtor – I market luxury properties in South Florida.   I love Florida and I love real estate.  I truly love what I do.  Most of all, I love my clients and I take their real estate needs very personally, as if they were my own, and that is my greatest strength as a realtor and the source of the success I have been able to enjoy…

“Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”  Ephesians 6: 7 NLT

20140907_175318

3.    I have naturally curly hair.  I love to rock my curls sometimes.  I am a proud member of the #CurlyHairProblems gang.  I grew up listening to my Mom bemoan, “Why don’t you comb your hair??  Would you like to borrow my comb???”  LOL  I like to think that my curls represent the rebel side of my nature.  The part that makes me ‘different”.  They define my “This is me, love it or leave it!” personality and show the ‘me’ that God created uniquely to be ‘just ME”…

“For You shaped me, inside and out.
    You knitted me together in my mother’s womb long before I took my first breath.
 I will offer You my grateful heart, for I am Your unique creation, filled with wonder and awe.
    You have approached even the smallest details with excellence;
    Your works are wonderful;
I carry this knowledge deep within my soul.”  Psalm 139: 13-14  VOICE

download_20150731_074249

4.    I am a #GymRat.  I was literally the laziest kid on the planet, but in the past four years, I got serious about my health and fitness and have achieved incredible growth and results. (I have some amazing mentors.)  I love to lift, I love to lift heavy, and I love to lift with purpose and a plan.  I don’t lift for competition or for weight loss, I lift for strength, growth, discipline, focus and because it beats the heck out of punching someone to get my frustrations out LOL.  My fitness is a foundation for the discipline with which I strive to live my life.  My commitment to a healthy lifestyle is part of the balance I seek as a woman in a busy world.  I can be found in the gym pretty much five to six days per week.  I work at eating clean and training dirty and I love it.

“So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should.” 1 Corinthians 9: 26-27 NLT

thumbnail.aspx

5.    Sunflowers are my favorite flower.  They are simple; they are not considered a ‘fancy’ flower.  They are  bright, sunny and they lift my spirit and make me smile every time I see them.  And that is exactly how I try to live my life…

“Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.” Luke 12: 27 NIV

 

d739ce09bec42b9bc5470834e99b06e56.    Sometimes my decisions are not of this world or worldly.  Sometimes my faith,values and my desire to help someone may override my personal best interest or even my business best interest.  And I have learned that people take kindness for weakness more often than not.

I see kindness as a strength.  I see a decision to do what’s best for someone else even if it costs you sometimes as a sign of a strength of character and faith.  It is the way of being that I learned from my father and I honestly don’t know any other way to be.

So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.” Colossians 3: 12-14 MSG 

 

3862e77345316cfcc38160ccfd8a18457.  Well, I love music!  I love to dance and I love, love, love to sing!   NOOOO, I cannot sing well- that is beside the point!  lol.  I do love almost every genre of music. But more importantly, I wanna ROCK!  I wanna ROCK THIS LIFE.  We are given this one life and I want to do my best at it, darn it!

I don’t want to settle for ‘could have been great’!  I want to BE GREAT!  I want to do great things with the talents, skills and abilities God has given me, at the role He created me to play. I am still in the process of growing in this – but He is the author and the finisher and I know He created me for great things.  I want to fulfill my purpose and my destiny.  There are things in me that need work, that He needs to root out of me in order for me to live the life He designed me uniquely for – and I am in the process of submitting and surrendering to Him so that He can use me to my fullest potential.  At the end of the day – that’s really all that matters, isn’t it?  At the end, I want my tombstone to read – ‘She rocked this life with purpose, passion and  abandon.  She loved, she laughed and she lived her best.  She had a heart for God and shone for Him wherever she went.’

What else is there?

 

So if you’re serious about living this new resurrection life with Christ, act like it. Pursue the things over which Christ presides. Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in front of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ—that’s where the action is. See things from his perspective.

Your old life is dead. Your new life, which is your real life—even though invisible to spectators—is with Christ in God. He is your life. When Christ (your real life, remember) shows up again on this earth, you’ll show up, too—the real you, the glorious you.”  Colossians 3: 1-4 MSG

 

Leave a comment