7 Favorite Quotes

Day Two – Favorite Quotes – and of course, I’m going to give you seven of them, because I’m good like that 😉  

29e4a58b421c018c19979755785fba6eThis is one of my faves for sure!  No matter what the goal or challenge is, no matter what the obstacles may be – You got this!   I use this one a lot – to myself, when I am tackling anything that is a challenge for me.  Sometimes in the gym, sometimes a business matter, or sometimes, it may be a sticky relationship issue.  I also use it a lot to encourage friends in their own challenges and hurdles.  I think it is a great reminder of our own ability to take something on!  Love it!

“The men in the army were threatening to kill David with stones, which greatly upset David. Each man was sad and angry because his sons and daughters had been captured, but David found strength in the Lord his God.” 1 Samuel 30: 6 NCV

 

c3d070e691271cd44fcf61266a7190e6

I use this one a lot too.  I don’t think any of us were truly prepared for adulthood and all that being a grown-up entails.  Life is HARD!!!  And sometimes it HURTS!!!  But as tough as things may be – we are tougher and stronger.  There is a quote that says we were given this life because we are strong enough to live it, and I believe it is so true.  Whatever trials we face, we truly have the strength inside of us to live through and overcome.  That strength is God…

“The Lord is my strength and my shield.  I trust Him and He helps me.”  Psalm 28: 7 NCV

 

 

55991f7f0689f0e6a79fb5a2565ac539This is one I am working on!  Whew!!!  Its like BOOM in my head every time I see it.  How often do we find, when we are talking to someone, that we heard the first part of what the person was saying and are so busy formulating our response to it, that we don’t hear the full of what they are saying.  Sometimes we miss the point they are making entirely as a result.  It’s a real challenge for me to live this one, I find myself doing the opposite all the time!  But I realize that if I truly listen to the other person, so that my goal is to truly understand their point and perspective, and not just to answer, our communication is improved DRAMATICALLY.  If we each did this – well, there is much in this world that would be resolved, I tell you…

“My dear brothers and sisters, always be willing to listen and slow to speak.”  James 1: 19 NCV

d4b504e6729e8e335fd3340139cd55a4We all make mistakes, some of which are worse than others.  We all fall – it is the nature of the flesh, I guess.  We are usually very hard on ourselves and some mistakes can be crippling if we don’t learn to forgive ourselves.  The Bible says:
“The only temptation that has come to you is that which everyone has. But you can trust God, who will not permit you to be tempted more than you can stand. But when you are tempted, he will also give you a way to escape so that you will be able to stand it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13   That means we all face the same temptations and we all are subject to falling. But the Scriptures also tell us  that we all have the same grace from God, who forgives us even though we so don’t deserve it. That there is nothing we can do to remove His love and grace from us!  If God forgives us, so should we forgive ourselves.  The thing I am learning is not to be incapacitated by my mistakes.  Regret them genuinely, feel complete and real remorse.  Repent of them – and get back up and try again.  No matter what – keep trying…

“For I have every confidence that nothing—not death, life, heavenly messengers, dark spirits, the present, the future, spiritual powers, height, depth, nor any created thing—can come between us and the love of God revealed in the Anointed, Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8: 38-39 VOICE

 

6af81372783538c9a651934233137702Give yourself credit for your progress!  Recognize that you are trying and celebrate the small successes.  I recently overcame one of my biggest weaknesses.  This was a giant weakness in my life and one I never really believed I had the strength to overcome.  But God…

But God is faithful, and when He wants to root something out of you – He does not give up on you!  When He has a purpose for you and something stands in its way, He brings you back time and again to face it until you can strengthen yourself in Him to overcome it.  Some of us get stuck in this phase – don’t get stuck.  Trust Him in truth and you will be able to overcome it.  If I could overcome that giant, you surely can too!  And celebrate it!  Recognize that you are a work in progress and that the journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step – so take delight in each step you take towards your destiny, your greatness.  At the end of my journey in this life, I want to be able to look back and say:

I have fought the good fight, I have stayed on course and finished the race, and through it all, I have kept believing. 2 Timothy: 4-7 NLT

46fd45edd266bd3e92af4f139784033e

This is a big one!  As believers, we are called not to judge but to LOVE.  I see so many rants and arguments on social media these days, with Christians seeking, with the best of intentions I am sure, to convict others of the sin in their lives or the error of their ways.  The thing is – God didn’t command us to judge others; He did command that we love them.  Be kind.  Give love and kindness in the face of sin – we all sin!  Be gracious – I mean show others grace.  God sure does.  Let’s try convicting less and loving more…

  • “Don’t judge others, or you will be judged.”  Matthew 7:1 NCV
  • “If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13: 2 MSG

0fe52f4823d63e6e176c7e692b92b998I don’t know that there is anything I believe more than this one!  The world says we should strive to succeed, to win, to get ahead.  And so many of us get lost in that pursuit that we find ourselves sometimes pushing others out of our way to get there.  I believe there is no greater success than to lift others as we go, build them up and help them in their own journey and pursuit of success and happiness. The Word already tells us that LOVE is the most important gift, the most important thing we can and need to do to play our part in the Kingdom of God.  Well, if love is the greatest thing, it is quite simple –

The greatest love you can show is to give your life for your friends.”  John15: 13 NOG

 

There you have it – my top 7!  These are some of the lessons I have been learning on my journey.  I hope they give you something to think about and help in yours.  

What are some of your favorites?  Please share and let’s start a conversation  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

