My Favorite Selfies.

2016-01-18 13.20.14

The many faces of Nicki.    Ever wonder why we don’t take or keep pictures of ourselves looking sad?  Or crying?  We smile for pictures because we want to put our best foot forward and  because those are the memories we want to keep.

Well, for a number of years, I wouldn’t smile for pictures.  I had been made to believe that I look better in pictures when I am not smiling.  That I don’t look so great in pictures when I do.

I think the reason these pictures of me are some of my favorites is because I am not just smiling – I am laughing.

Maybe my face doesn’t look as lean when I smile.  Maybe my features grow wider and some may feel that my features are slightly distorted, for want of a better word.   Maybe the angles are wrong and the lighting is bad.  Maybe some pictures highlight the graduation of color on my face…

But these pictures are my favorites because I don’t care a bit how I look in them – all I care about is that they show and remind me of the sheer joy I was feeling in the moment.

They remind me how I was feeling after a super successful day of winning new property listings and simply killing it at work.  They remind me about how I was feeling after a night out at an awesome networking event with my husband and friends who literally are family.  They remind of how I was feeling after getting back to work when I got home, on marketing and client follow up, with passion and excitement for what I do.

They remind me how much I love my job and my clients.  How grateful I am for them and for the opportunity to work for and with them.  They remind me of how thankful I am for the skill set and unique abilities I was blessed with that make me great at it.

They remind me of how grateful I am for my family, my home, my friends.  They remind that even though things are not all in place the way I want them to be – I can still laugh and love life.

Because I am alive.  I am healthy.  I am blessed.   I am unique and gifted.  I am chosen and prized and loved beyond all comprehension by a God who never fails me.  They remind me that when my vision for the future doesn’t go according to my plan, He has always worked all things for something far better than I ever imagined.

And if that isn’t reason to smile and be joyful, I don’t know what is.   And if that isn’t great photographic material, well…   I don’t know what is.

04752dcd867c67f01a13017db93e40a1

“Strength and dignity are her clothing, And she smiles at the future.”

Proverbs 31: 25

 

“The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

1 Samuel 16: 7 NIV

 

 

Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades. The woman to be admired and praised is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God.

Proverbs 31: 30 MSG

 

A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Proverbs 17: 22 ESV

 

And Sarah declared, “God has brought me laughter! All who hear about this shall rejoice with me.

Genesis 21: 6 TLB

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Favorite Selfies.

Leave a Reply

