The Making of A Plan…

2015-09-13 20.43.48Hi y’all!  Checking in to see how it’s been going with your year’s planning and share a little about my own.  How has it been going for you?  Have you made your plan or made some time to work on it?  Did you use a system that worked for you – or are you still struggling with it or passed on doing it entirely?

I shared before that I was committed to it this year – not a list of resolutions, but a real plan for how I want my life to go this year and why.  I shared my first step of figuring out what matters most to me and the different hats I wear or roles I play and how they interact.  My role as a daughter of God, as a wife, sister/friend, as a realtor, a writer and as an individual.

lifeplanI did follow through on this commitment to develop one big life plan and have fleshed out something that has pulled from things I have learned along the way from a few different sources and worked my way into a plan that I feel super excited about, because I, for the first time, understand who I am, whose I am, why I want and need to do things and have some very attainable and doable ideas and systems now to help me enact them.

Let me share a few of the key things that helped me and I hope this helps you:

I got a journal.  Everything you read will emphasize the importance of writing down your plan in order for it to be real.

I read something back in July last year in my Joyce Meyer Devotional Book called ‘Love Out Loud’ that I found powerful and made some notes  for the cover page for my planning journal.

It says:

Write a vision and make it plain. 

Habakkuk 2: 2

Write down your goals.  Describe your ideal self’s activities, appearance, values, goals and so on.  Make it concrete so it feels as real as possible.  Make sure your goals align with God’s Word and have the right focus.

Your list of goals can serve as stepping stones on your way to becoming the person God wants you to be.

Have a vision for your life that agrees with God’s Word and don’t ever give up until you see it come to pass.

Powerful, huh?  I mean – seriously- do you see how powerful this is?

This is the basis of who you are, whose you are and why you will do the things you do.

670px-Write-a-Life-Plan-Step-2I sat down and wrote out my vision of My Ideal Selfif I could be exactly the way I want to be, what would that look like.

My first paragraph of that vision was:

 

  • I am clear, focused and intentional about my place and my role as a chosen daughter of God.  I understand clearly the gifts and talents He has given me and the ways in which I am to use them in order to serve the purpose He  created me for.
  • I spend precious time each morning – early and in quiet seclusion – reading and studying His Word, seeking His direction, filling up on His guidance and refueling on His love, grace, mercy and compassion.   I drink Him in and try to apply His direction to my day.  I pray for the people in my life and my community fervently and intentionally.  I strive to reflect His teaching in how I relate to my husband, family, friends, clients and everyone I encounter.

 

I fleshed that out some more  and closed with a realization:

These are my values.  These are the things I live by.

medium_cu-core-values__1_I wrote out my Ideal Appearance – When people look at me, this is what I want them to see:

 

 

  • Joy
  • Peace
  • Passion for God
  • Love and commitment for my husband
  • Grace, compassion and empathy
  • Growth
  • Purpose
  • Discipline
  • Passion for my work
  • Focus
  • Dedication
  • Hard-working
  • Smart-working
  • Success that matters
  • Kindness
  • Encouraging
  • Patient
  • Principled
  • Integrity
  • Authenticity
  • Radiant with light and love
  • Imperfectly perfect
  • Take care of myself
  • Has balance
  • Generous
  • Fighter
  • Warrior
  • Winner
  • Self-Assured
  • Confident
  • Bold
  • Creative
  • Energetic
  • Open

That’s a long list and not all I wrote – I share it because this is really important – these become the characteristics I want to display and work consistently at enacting.

I used these things to create a list of monthly goals or stepping stones, weekly ones and daily ones.  These things will flesh out my calendar/schedule.

a77350b1378c8823f1bc28a14325957bI determined a few big organizational to-do’s, like putting up a vision board that has these traits pinned up on it and a vision of my ideal self and appearance as a daily reminder of who I am and strive to be.

I did determine a few resolutions, but these were based on things I determined were potential obstacles to my plan and I wrote out my resolution to stop or divert from them.

I wrote out my Business Plan and sat with my manager to review it.  She is one of the most amazing managers I have ever had and she really helped me to put a big vision into a real, workable plan with daily/weekly and monthly activities that will help me reach my intense goals for the year.  Thank you, Nancy Corey)

So what are my take-aways from all of this that I want to share?

  • Write out your Ideal Self Vision
  • Determine why you want to be this person
  • Set down the way you want to be seen by others – that is the way you need to BE
  • Write out all the things that come to your head that you will need to do in order to get there. Your stepping stones – then put them into some order.
  • If you work, write down your dreams, goals and plans and then put them into one concise plan.  If you have someone who can help you to review it – go for it.  It will greatly benefit you in  making the plan something that you can actually enact with purpose.
  • Put it all together.
  • Draft up your Calendars.  Make sure you include much-needed ‘Me-Time’ and 6a00d8345eaeee69e2017c31c70379970bdesignated, inviolable ‘Couple-Time’ if applicable.
  • Schedule time for reviewing your actions and implementation and fine-tuning your plan.
  • Get an accountability partner – preferably a spiritual sister or brother who understands the passionate pursuit of living your life intentionally and on purpose for the King.

 

creating-a-life-planaNow let me be the first to say that I am no expert on this – this is my first time trying to do something like this with such passion and commitment and focus on getting it right.  So I welcome your input on what you do or have done, your thoughts and feedback – because I am committed to this and want to draw from your knowledge and experience and share mine as I go along my way.

I would love to hear from you – and to hear if you tried any of these things and ideas.  Keep me posted on this and how its going for you and I will do the same.  As I always say – we rise by lifting others and encouraging each other.  And if each one bring one – what a better world it will be.

Hope to hear from you soon –

If you drive, drive carefully and if you walk – Walk Good…

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17 NLT

 

“In a race everyone runs, but only one person gets first prize. So run your race to win. To win the contest you must deny yourselves many things that would keep you from doing your best. An athlete goes to all this trouble just to win a blue ribbon or a silver cup, but we do it for a heavenly reward that never disappears. So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step. I fight to win.” 1 Corinthians 9:24-26 TLB

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

