Of Storms And Light…

Have you ever had a season in life when it just seemed like too much?  A day when it just felt like things were so overwhelming, that you just couldn’t go on?

Today is one of those days – the fact that it’s only 9:53am as I write this doesn’t escape me.

When life gets busy and you’re tired and there are the usual problems that you can twist and turn with, it can feel like too much some days.  When you add larger problems, like family health concerns and long term care and major, life-impacting decisions to it, some days you just want to curl into a ball and cry.  And today, I just want to curl up into a very tightly spun ball of cord and cry…

I know this moment will pass and I will get past this feeling – but in the moment, in the middle of the rush of fear and panic and as the weight of responsibility floods over me, I don’t necessarily feel strong enough to bear the waves crashing all around me.  It does feel a little like I will break.

So in the midst of this, the only thing I know how to do is turn to God.  And in the midst of this, the only thing I feel strong enough to do is share how He carries us through these storms, if we let Him.  Maybe because I need to remind myself – maybe because I feel sure someone else out there needs to be reminded too.

Some things I have learned is that in the middle of trial, don’t focus on the trial in front of you –  focus on the One who made you.  Don’t look down at your circumstances – look up at the Creator.

I have learned to look back at all the trials I have had in the past – all those times I was sure I would break and didn’t think there was any possible way I would make it through – and see the tangible, physical evidence that I did make it through because  He came through for me in ways that I could never have foreseen or imagined.  And to remind myself that He did it before – and He will do it again.  And that I can’t – but He can.

I have learned to trust that although there is much in life that may be out of my control, there is absolutely NOTHING that is out of His control.

I have learned to fight against my will, my fear and my panic and to try to release it to Him.  This is the hardest thing to do – so I have learned that what helps is to put my attention into helping someone else in any way I can.  Sometimes its just to start praying passionately for everyone I know, by name, and need specific.

Sometimes its to call someone I know who has been having a tough time and offer caring, love and support.  Sometimes its to sit in the presence of someone who just needs to talk and  to listen to them.  Sometimes its serving the needs of others, whether at Church or in any of the groups that work so fervently to bring real change into the lives of those of us who are truly down in life.  This doesn’t take away my problems or lessen them.  This doesn’t even make me focus on the fact that my problems are small in comparison to the challenges others face – this just helps me let go of them, release the things that are beyond my control to God and focus on the things that He has commissioned me to be responsible for, be His Hands and Feet.

Today, it was simply taking a few minutes to pour out my heart and remind myself and anyone else who needs to hear it of the truth that He is in control.  He is still in the miracle business.  That He has never failed and never will, and that in the middle of any storm or trial – He IS IMMANUEL.  He is with us.

images-3

 

“All right then, the Lord himself will choose the sign—a child shall be born to a virgin![a] And she shall call him Immanuel (meaning, “God is with us”)”

Isaiah 7: 14 TLB

Remember that I commanded you to be strong and brave. Don’t be afraid, because the Lord your God will be with you everywhere you go.”

Joshua 1: 9 NCVjoshua-1-9_desktop_medium

 

The Lord is my light and the one who saves me.
So why should I fear anyone?
The Lord protects my life.
So why should I be afraid?

Psalm 27: 1 NCV

“… and finally He said to me, “My grace is enough to cover and sustain you. My power is made perfect in weakness.” So ask me about my thorn, inquire about my weaknesses, and I will gladly go on and on—I would rather stake my claim in these and have the power of the Anointed One at home within me.”

2 Corinthians 12: 9 VOICE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Of Storms And Light…

  1. Kaye Rabel says:

    Very beautiful and heartfelt post! Thanks for reminding up that in the midst of the storm that our captain is perfectly in control and will help us navigate the rough waves and get us through the storms of our lives. Sending my thoughts and prayers to help you through this difficult time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

