#toughchick

As much as I love working out,  I usually do programs made up of the things I enjoy and exclude the things I hate.   And I hate jumping  lol.

Any form of exercise that requires jumping is annoying to me and I am known to declare loudly that Jumping is for Dummies.  I could write that book!  LOL

116efa98b6e4a0c494969fdec1bc1fa1But ‘Jump-Training’ or ‘Plyometrics’ burns the maximum amount of calories in the shortest amount of time while toning the body from head to toe, so I always know that by excluding plyometric exercise from my workouts, I’m only cheating myself out of achieving better health and better results.

So I finally decided and committed to pushing myself harder to do the things I think I cannot do or simply don’t want to do.   So right now,  I am doing a workout program that incorporates more active rest and plyometric activities into my routine and I even have one full day/workout of all plyometric exercises.   That means all jumping  –  with 45 second rest breaks in between circuits.   KILLER!!!

But I can tell you that pushing myself to do something I am afraid of or just don’t want to do is one of the most mentally empowering things I do.   I leave the gym after this workout feeling like a champion and I take that feeling into every other area of my life and go after my LIFE with more passion and more purpose.

It’s the same with a work matter,  a relationship situation or whatever it is you face that you fear or don’t want to deal with.   When you conquer your fear or your will and turn it into positive action instead, you realize your power to do anything.

64c76016dd77a5e2a82bb2e2483bd4e2One thing I have learned about myself is that when I put my mind to something, I can do it.  Even if I don’t do it perfectly – I can do it!  And doing it is better than not doing it.  It is mind over matter – letting my mind control my body or my emotions instead of being governed by the way I feel.

In a recent teaching series at my Church, #CBGEmoteControl, we examined the way we let our emotions determine our actions and the ways that usually makes us lose over time. We can all identify with this, can’t we?

Yesterday, for example, I had the experience of facing a problem.  It was a problem that I didn’t know HOW I was going to handle and, as time progressed, I started to let fear build up inside about it.  As the fear grew, something that could have been handled with efficiency became a giant problem that blew out of control.

After many days of a much higher than acceptable blood pressure rate, sleepless nights, great anxiety and a mix of being a bear to be around and an emotional mess, yesterday I finally took some action.   I haven’t resolved the problem yet – that will take time, planning and the cooperative effort of others.  But I have taken a step towards resolution and that, sometimes, is all we can do – and it is everything we need to do.

13a4b87fbc8481d6fff1a2309f2f2ce1In the face of adversity or trial, the best course of action is often to simply take action.  Do something.  As opposed to doing nothing.  Positive action means you are taking steps in the right direction – once I did that, I felt a monumental weight leave my heart and shoulders.  Just doing something was what I needed to do – and once I did it, I knew it was going to be okay and that whatever it takes, I will be able to handle it, because I have the ability in me to do it.

Whether it is a big life challenge, or a simple chore we detest; whether it is taking our health in hand and committing to a lifestyle change in our fitness and nutrition, or calling that family member we are estranged from – whatever it is…   the Bible teaches that:

“No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful!  But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.”

I can certainly attest to the fact that from a fitness perspective, the first 5 burpees or the first few sets of an exercise will be the worst – after that, the endorphins or the rush of empowerment starts to flood in, you find your groove and momentum takes over.

And as I have just shared, the moments leading up to handling a giant problem can seem really scary – but once you take the first step and start, what seemed like a huge deal turns into a manageable situation and the rest just starts to follow along.

So just start…

Whatever it is – decide you’re going to push yourself. And just start. Start the conversation with that person you’ve been having bad blood with.  Start that task at work you’ve been putting off but you know you need to do.  Start that chore in your home.  Start that workout.

And let the momentum lead you to victory!

Remember this:  Greatness is inside you.  It is literally mind over matter.   No discipline  is enjoyable at the time.  

But the reward is peace, satisfaction, accomplishment, health and balance in our minds and hearts and our bodies.  The reward is priceless!

Here is a quick glimpse of a part of that full Plyometrics/Jump-Training workout I’ve started doing one day a week.  Its a lot of jumping – but I am strong enough for this journey! 🙂

“No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way.  So take a new grip with your tired hands and strengthen your weak knees.  Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong.”

Hebrews 12: 11-13 NLT 

 

“Even youths will become weak and tired,
and young men will fall in exhaustion.
But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.”

Isaiah 40: 30-31 NLT

 

 

“But when I am afraid, I will put my confidence in you.”

Psalm 56: 3 TLB

Leave a Reply

