Guilty As Charged!!!

Day 28 – What’s Your Guilty Pleasure?

Today’s 31 day Blog Challenge Topic is what’s your guilty pleasure.

I have one of those :-).

And it is ridiculous – but it is my guilty pleasure anyway LOL.

Soooo, I think I shared before that I don’t watch television in the daytime. I’m usually at work, and even on days when I am working from home, I’m too busy to turn on the television.

I don’t watch TV on my own, as a rule, and don’t even have one in my bedroom – the only time I watch TV is when my husband and I watch it together at night in the family room.  But a few years ago, I had some surgery and it required about 6 weeks of recovery time.

The first couple weeks of those were pretty rough on me, so I really did spend them propped up in bed, for the most part, which gets pretty long and boring after you decide to quit taking the crazy, heavy duty percocet!!   So, my husband brought a small TV into my bedroom for me to watch during the days as I recuperated.

And just like that, my guilty pleasure was born…

886836-001

Judge Shows.

Yes, you read that right!  Judge Shows!  You know – those shows on your TV stations that have these legal cases adjudicated on TV.  Like Judge Judy, for example..

I know you’re muttering to yourself, “Seriously?”  I know its ridiculous.  But do you know how absolutely entertaining judge shows are???  They start from like 10am and go on through the day on different channels till its time for the evening news, and I found myself skipping around from channel to channel to catch the next one and the next one, like a junkie who just couldn’t get enough.

Those shows are HILARIOUS!!!  My husband says it’s because I am transfixed by the lowest denominator in society;  I say its because I like to watch justice being served smiley1

imagesI am convinced that most of the cases have paid actors because no matter what you say, I do not believe those are real people in real circumstances.  They are ridiculous and yet, completely, hysterically funny.

Obviously, I recovered long ago from that surgical procedure, and I still don’t watch TV in the daytime.  But, if by chance I find myself in a time and place where there is a TV on and I can control the channel, I will find my way to a judge show and be highly entertained.

Sometimes its at the gym on one of the cardio machines that has its own personal TV – and I have been known to laugh out loud at what is playing out on my own little screen, and in my own little earbuds LOL.

Once, when I was at the dentist, they put me in my little treatment room and asked what channel I’d like them to switch the TV to while I waited through my cleaning etc – three guesses what I asked to watch…

Yeah, I got it bad smiley-laughing-out-loud

So that’s my guilty pleasure – some will think, “It could be worse”, others may think, “That’s pathetic!”

Whatever – Don’t Judge Me!!!

See what I did there???

lol

 

Now, on the surface, there seems to be a severely short supply of anything meaningful to be learned or grasped from judge shows.  But if you dig deep –and I have LOL -you realize that judge shows teach you that if you don’t listen to your parents and you don’t “Study your Book”, as Jamaican parents are wont to say, you could end up in front of a judge!  And even if you are smart enough to avoid a life of crime, you could still end up in front of a judge, making a fool of yourself in front of millions by taking your piddling little case to a judge on television!  #LifeLessons.

Judge Shows teach us that in the face of silliness, right is still right and wrong is still wrong.  And that common sense is not given to everyone, so it should be valued highly!!! 😉

Judge Shows teach us that there is enough seriousness in this life – sometimes, its okay to just be light and do things just for fun.  As the great theologian, Ernie Smith once sang: “Life Is Just For Living”

So have some fun while you are here, yes?

ps – I really encourage you to click on the link above for ‘Life Is Just For Living’  for a truly awesome listening experience 🙂 #Jamaican #reggaeclassic

So, today I will leave you with one of my Judge Show favorites from that time of my recuperation.  This is a classic moment from Divorce Court in November 2013 – just a teeny little snippet for you to enjoy today 😉

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; …”
Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8 ESV

 

Leave a Reply

