#foodie??

Day 26 – What’s Your Favorite Food

So today’s 31 Day Blog Challenge Topic is what’s your favorite food…

Well, I think I have established that I am a fitness fan/freak.  I am a bit of a gym rat and I am committed to working on my best health, while enjoying delicious, healthy food choices.  Its a lifestyle that I chose and really have committed to and I truly enjoy it.

However, like everyone on the planet, I have a favorite food, and like most people, it falls in the not-so-healthy category.  But unlike most people, it’s not sweets.  I don’t really have a sweet tooth – I have always preferred salty foods like chips and green fruits, like green mangos, green june plums etc (weird, I know), and even something we know well in the Caribbean, but not so much in North America, called Chinese Sweeties or Wah Mui.  They are, basically, prunes that are dried and soaked in salt.  They are something amazing but not for everyone, I guess…61g+YarC-CL._SL1000_

My favorite food, however, may be a little surprising, but, then again, not really…

I seriously love a great burger!!!   Who doesn’t love a great burger???

cc380b54-550d-4257-a1e3-94a41fa5be4eWhat’s not to love about well-seasoned, grilled burger patties topped with gooey cheese, bacon, add some choice toppings, like jalapenos, or avocado, and tomato, etc, and a toasted bun?  Add some hot, crunchy french fries – and you have a girl in absolute HEAVEN…

I have a few rules about a great burger – here are the things I look for:

  • It must be grilled to well-done, juicy perfection. (Yes, well-done! Don’t judge me lol)
  • It must have cheese.  If it’s properly seasoned, ketchup is not a must.
  • Don’t overdo the lettuce – I take it out mostly.  It just gets in the way.
  • I like the pickles on the side.  The burger is great without them.
  • Bacon makes them even better.

I don’t indulge in burgers often – for obvious reasons LOL.   But when I do – I want it to be an amazing one!  I don’t want a fast food burger – I want one that is an epicurean masterpiece.  A thing of beauty to your eyes and, more importantly, in your tummy.

Once in a while, I have one as a cheat/treat meal on a Sunday afternoon – not every week – that would be bad for you LOL.   But once in a while.  And I have even been known to ring out a year and bring in a new one with, yes… a great burger.  All decked out in my finest threads, take me to a fancy restaurant, and there really isn’t going to be anything better on the menu to me than a great, juicy burger and fries…  LOL #cheapdate

Believe it or not, that kind of treat, every now and then, helps me stick to my commitment to clean, healthy living, because I don’t feel like I am depriving myself of things I really enjoy.  I have things I really want in moderation.  It’s called balance.  Constant deprivation sets you up for a complete collapse in all your hard work. Believe me – I’ve been there, done that!   And its no way to live – you will get burned out and quit.

Health and fitness are a lifestyle for me, so I know I can have a burger once in a while and not feel guilty or worry about my health and my weight, because I work darned hard all the time and I can live a little sometimes and can enjoy my life.   Balance and moderation – something I had to hear my trainer, Michelle Marie Diaz, talk about a lot, before I chose to listen and take in this truth to my way of life.  Because, at the end of the day, your health is really all about the choices you make.  

Don’t diet – make your health a priority and make lifestyle choices towards bettering it.  Just be realistic about it.  Commit to what you really want, set good but realistic goals – and go for it!  But don’t forget to live a little and enjoy your life!  Because life is just for living…

So, I am glad to say I have had some great burgers in my time.  And I look forward to enjoying many more 🙂

The one I’m most looking forward to trying soon is this one I saw on a friend’s Facebook page, from Tucker Duke’s in Deerfield Beach.

Would you just look at this bit of gastronomic brilliance:

12047062_10206909924440831_2001291411046130831_n

o.m.g.   That.is.all!  #thisburgeristhetruth

“So go ahead. Eat your food with joy, and drink your wine with a happy heart, for God approves of this!”

 Ecclesiastes 9:7 NLT

“Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”

Nehemiah 8: 10 NIV

Leave a Reply

