Passion With Purpose

Day 23 – Do You Have A Hobby?

hobbies

Today’s 31 day Blog Challenge Topic is ‘Do You Have A Hobby?’  I guess it is fair to say this blog has become a huge hobby of mine.    This is something I wasn’t thinking about doing, it wasn’t an interest or anything.  I was led to it one day by virtue of simply having something I wanted to say.  I found myself in the middle of this journey towards becoming my best self and I felt compelled to write some thoughts down – and this blog was born.

2015-09-13 20.43.48Writing was a passion of mine when I was younger.  I loved to write fiction, create characters and stories about people.  Human interest stuff.  And I was pretty good at it.   I remember writing a story for English class in high school and my teacher entered it in some national competition, because she felt it was that good.

But as I got older, I got distracted with life, growing up, teenage years transitioning into early adulthood, and I lost my words.  I tried to get back into it a few times, but I just couldn’t find a connection to anything I was writing and I eventually gave up on it.

This Blog is showing me a renewed passion for writing.  I have found my words in a different genre, a different style.  I find words when they have meaning.  I find words when they come from my heart for sharing God and encouragement with others.  It is opening up a whole new world for me, in terms of my direction in life.  It is not a career path – it is a passion with a purpose – and I am loving it.

My other main hobby is fitness.  And I am passionate about this subject.  Having learned a teeny bit about the way to strive for health and fitness and having found a great mentor, I am passionate about weight training and clean, healthy – yet delicious – eating, and I pursue these interests every day of life.

As a former lazy girl (LOL), I find it amazing that this is something that I have become so passionate about.  Having worked hard at it and seen results, I am now so excited to see what I can push myself to do when I try, and am always looking for new and fun ways to make fitness a big part of my complete lifestyle.  I’d like to try paddle-boarding, for example.  Maybe try a half-marathon, for the accomplishment factor.  Try yoga, kickboxing – other forms of fitness to train my body in new and challenging ways, while training my mind in clean, healthful living.

I have shared before about swapping bad habits for good ones, and I feel very blessed to have, at this stage of my life, found passions that are healthy and are contributing towards my being and doing my best in life.

Now if I could just find a way for my hobbies to make me money… 😉

 

(plus I just learned to make my first movie – kinda rough-cut, I admit, but more hobbies being born every day)images

“We all have different gifts that God has given to us by His loving-favor. We are to use them. If someone has the gift of preaching the Good News, he should preach. He should use the faith God has given him. 7 If someone has the gift of helping others, then he should help. If someone has the gift of teaching, he should teach. 8 If someone has the gift of speaking words of comfort and help, he should speak. If someone has the gift of sharing what he has, he should give from a willing heart. If someone has the gift of leading other people, he should lead them. If someone has the gift of showing kindness to others, he should be happy as he does it”

Romans 12: 6-8 NLV

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

Philippians 4: 8-9 ESV

Leave a Reply

