home alone

Day 22 – What Do You Do When You’re Home Alone?

00a027ae2dd28fa6658a41e9c700d17eToday’s 31 Day Blog Challenge Topic is What Do You Do When You’re Home Alone.  I am pretty certain I cannot get any kind of meaningful message into this post – but here is the answer to the question nonetheless…

So, when I am home alone, the big excitement comes from the fact that I get control of that wondrous, magical, mystical instrument, known as the TV Remote.  lol

While there are other TV’s in our home, I honestly only watch TV in the family room with my husband.  I don’t watch TV in the daytime and, at night, it is what we do together as our winding down time.  But we have all heard the legend and the stories and the jokes about a man and his remote.  My husband is no exception LOL.  When we watch TV, he usually picks the show.  He does pick things we can both enjoy, for the most part, but that does mean there are things that I personally enjoy that we don’t watch, so I don’t get to see them often.

So, given free reign with the remote, I can usually be found glued to HGTV or Chopped on The Food Network.  But there are times when there is no ‘go-to’ show on either network and I start to flip around the channels.  On those occasions, I always seem to end up watching shows or movies that line up with my love of scary flicks.

I can, I am not ashamed to confess, be found watching something as hilariously ridiculous as BigFoot on the SyFy channel or something like that.  Or, one night, I even came upon a channel that plays out supposed real experiences with the paranormal – kind of like a paranormal Forensic Files… It was pretty lame, but I can watch nonsense like that :-).

If I come across Alfred Hitchcock classics, now, or replays of movies I love, like the ones I talked about in this post…   Well, that’s a win!!!

g1368826273467475882For me, the television is for mindless entertainment, so that’s what I enjoy when I am alone.  Of course, watching scary movies alone can open up the auditory senses like nothing else!!!

You pause the show, get up to grab a cup of tea or something and #BOOM!!!  You’re all, like, “What was that?”

Do you know what I mean? 😉

Yes, the thought has occurred to me that it is not necessarily the best way to spend my time alone in the house.

Cause you’re just sitting there, minding your business and then all of a sudden, it’s like…

 

 

 

 

Some things are just for fun – and this post is one of them. 🙂  

But being afraid does happen sometimes and it is no joke. Whenever I feel afraid, here are some of my favorite verses that comfort me and remind me who and WHOSE I am:

95c3279398ee9540a641e4898846fec6‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

Isaiah 41: 10 NASB

 

‘The Lord is my shepherd,
I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside quiet waters.
He restores my soul;
He guides me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You have anointed my head with oil;
My cup overflows.
Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will [h]dwell in the house of the Lord forever.’

Psalm 23:1-6 NASB

Leave a Reply

