Where I Am Happiest

Day 18 – Where Am I Happiest

Today’s 31 day Blog Challenge Topic is Where Are You Happiest?  A few years ago I may have answered differently, but these days, without question, the answer to that question is at Church.

By virtue of being in a growing and deepening relationship with God, being in His House is everything to me.  But in a very real sense, my church, Church By The Glades, is my greatest sanctuary where my relationship with God is fed, nourished, built up, strengthened, supported, developed, grown, cultured, resourced and outsourced.

Church By The Glades is a true bible-based, non-denominational Christian Church.  It is a big Church, with approximately 7,000 – 10,000 people regularly attending services on any given weekend.

Yet, despite the size and the number of people there each week, in the 14-15 years I have lived in South Florida I have never felt more a part of a community than I do now, thanks to Church By the Glades.

They say a Church is made up of the head, Jesus, and the body –  the people who make up the members of the church.  

My church has the most amazing body of people, who truly represent the hands and feet of God every day.

Incredible messages about real, everyday life situations we all face daily and how the Word of God relates to these situations and teaches us how to act, respond and react, are delivered in a powerful, creative way, that brings the Word so close to home, it actually can change the way you think and the way you act, and so, the direction of your life – because it is so simple and real, you can actually apply it.

Awesome people come together to worship together, love on each other and support each other and on any given Sunday, you will see huge hugs and smiles in the lobby as well as quiet, private, stolen moments of prayer as people, one on one, lift and encourage and support each other.

Thousands of our members gather daily, weekly, monthly or at specific opportunities to serve the community in a huge way.  From our prison ministries, to our orphanages that we support, to the small groups doing homeless ministry, to our large Serve the City events – Church By The Glades takes the Word of God literally, and puts it into action, to serve as Jesus served.

Everywhere I go in my community I see smiling faces on people wearing CBG T-Shirts, who are living and walking in love in the community, as they go about their everyday life, shining God’s light into the community.

No matter what is happening in my world before I get to Church or what I know I am going to be facing after, the moment I get to CBG, I feel love, peace, strength, refocusing, fresh perspective and hope.

I may have had a morning where the toast burned, something spilled on my top, the garage door wouldn’t open and I am running very late and so I walked into church in tears of frustration and I walk out with a smile and a heart full of love and peace, fresh, renewed and ready to be God’s disciple in a world that desperately needs to know and see Him lived out in others.

I say all of this in the hope that you can visit one day for yourself, whether in person or online.  I promise you that you won’t regret it. But truthfully, I would love for you to know and experience the joy of having a church home for yourself, wherever you are.

So I encourage you: as you go about your journey to live your best life, find a great local church.  And by great, I mean a church where you feel at home, where you feel welcomed, where the Word of God is brought in a powerful way that teaches you, challenges you, makes you think and you can apply it to your life.  Where you can worship and fellowship and where you can serve and become a part of a family that will guide you, protect you and nourish and support you in life.

God calls us to fellowship – find a church home to plant yourself for your journey.

For me, church is where I am happiest – where my growth is fostered.  It builds me up in my purpose and in my focus, on this journey to live my best life – to live out my true potential.

I love my Church!!!

 

“You are members of God’s very own family, citizens of God’s country, and you belong in God’s household with every other Christian.”

Ephesians 2: 19 LB

“God’s family is the church of the living God, the pillar and foundation of the truth.”

1 Timothy 3: 15B GW

Leave a Reply

