the reason for being

Day 17 – When and Why Did You Start This Blog

Today’s 31 Day Blog Challenge Topic is When and Why Did You Start This Blog.

I am pretty new to this blogging thing.  I started this Blog on September 7, 2015.  I have tried blogging in the past, but never got caught up in it and so it didn’t stick.  This time around is a different experience.

46742869c6cb54721771d4128cf3b299I guess I started it because I wanted to share my experience of going through this journey of self-awareness and growth.  I have been learning so much in this process and I wanted to share about that, in hopes that my experience can help anyone else in their own journey.  I always hope that readers will share their thoughts and comments with me so that I can know if you got anything out of it and so that I, in turn, can learn from you.

My hope is that it will encourage someone, anyone, to seek their best life also.  To seek after God and develop in love, faith and service to the King of all Life.   That it will inspire someone who is feeling low to lift their eyes and set their sights high.  To not give up.  To love and accept yourself, realizing that we are all works in progress, and to keep working.  To know that we are all loved and treasured, just as we are, by our God, who created us.  That He has a higher purpose for us and that if we trust Him, He is calling us and leading us to it.

At the beginning I posted something new maybe once per week. Now that I have accepted this 31 Day Blog Challenge, I post every day on the challenge topic given.  It does take a lot out of me, because I am committed to making my posts meaningful, so I try to look deep inside myself for each topic and share what I have – which is my own thoughts, feelings and experience on the topic.  That means I try to make myself transparent on topics that are sometimes difficult to share about, but if I am not going to be authentic in what I share, what would be the point?  How will it make an impact or make a difference?

And while it is true that some parts of developing self-awareness can be painful, as you sift through the negative factors that have built up in your makeup as a person, it is also true that many parts of the process are amazing, as you become more aware of all of the positive things in you that you didn’t even know you had or thought or felt.  And I assure you, there will be many of those.

For me, the tangible signs and feelings of growth are incredibly rewarding and give me reason every day to appreciate who I am now and, also, to see, hope and believe that my best days are yet to come, because I am becoming better every day. 🙂

The key thing I have found is to look deeply at yourself in a balanced way, knowing first and foremost that God loves you and cherishes you no matter what.   Know who and whose you are – a child of God and there is nothing that can change that or separate you from Him, so step out in the confidence of knowing He is holding your hand as you go, directing your way.  

I wouldn’t turn back from this journey now, no matter where it takes me.  It is the most fulfilling thing I have ever done for myself.  

0fe52f4823d63e6e176c7e692b92b998At the end of the day, I want my life, with all it has entailed, and all it has brought and taught me, to mean something.  If opening up my heart about it means that I help just one person in any way to seek after their best and live a better, more fulfilling life and live their purpose – it will all be worth it and my purpose will be served.

There.  That’s it in a nutshell.  That’s why I write this Blog…

 

“For You shaped me, inside and out.
You knitted me together in my mother’s womb long before I took my first breath.
I will offer You my grateful heart, for I am Your unique creation, filled with wonder and awe.
You have approached even the smallest details with excellence;
Your works are wonderful;
I carry this knowledge deep within my soul.
You see all things; nothing about me was hidden from You
As I took shape in secret,
carefully crafted in the heart of the earth before I was born from its womb.
You see all things;
You saw me growing, changing in my mother’s womb;
Every detail of my life was already written in Your book;
You established the length of my life before I ever tasted the sweetness of it.
Your thoughts and plans are treasures to me, O God! I cherish each and every one of them!
How grand in scope! How many in number!
If I could count each one of them, they would be more than all the grains of sand on earth. Their number is inconceivable!
Even when I wake up, I am still near to You.”

Psalm 139: 13-18 VOICE

Read all of Psalm 139

 

“What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

Philippians 4:9 NLT

Leave a Reply

