Let The Music Play

Day 14 – What’s On Your iPod…
Well, after the deep thoughts and emotional demands of the past few days of this 31 day Blog Challenge, I am grateful for a lighter topic for today.  It’s ‘What’s on your iPod.’

I do try to make each of my posts meaningful or impactful in some way – I am not sure how I will swing that here, but let’s give it a go.  LOL

43a288d4f2dbf296e55bfcc3125e6d17So, I still have an iPod Nano from back in the day.  I converted to an iPhone after that and most of my music was on there.  I since made the absolutely regretful decision to try a Samsung (that should have made my list of regrets yesterday, OMGosh), and so I have gone back to my iPod Nano for music, because the dreadful Samsung is annoying for even storing music files.

We will not discuss my loathing of Samsung phones here…

Anyway, so my iPod!  It is what I use at the gym or during my runs or at the beach or pool or whatever I do that listening to music is a part of.  So most of the music is designed to give me an energy boost, but I do have a range of music.

My first love, musically, is Jamaican Dance Hall.  So I have dance hall oldies, with favorites from greats like Papa San, Lt. Stitchie,  Buju, Shabba, Super Cat – you name it.  SERIOUS music, y’simi!  🙂

I also have newer dance hall in different playlists. And I listen to dance hall on Spotify a lot too, which helps me hear the latest tunes as they get added.  Love, love, love me my dance hall!!! $T2eC16FHJIQE9qUHrjB(BQBZF3wTV!~~60_35

I have some of my favorite old reggae songs like Everything I Own, Too Experienced and 5446 (one of the best songs ever imho) to name a few..

I am an 80’s girl, so I have Madonna, Michael Jackson, Prince, Phil Collins and artists like that.  I also fell in love with music from the 90’s so I do have a great collection of music from that period too. Green Day – oh my gosh, Green Day!!! i'm silly smiley

I also have some gospel like Kirk Franklin, who I love, and a mix of contemporary Christian music, like Hillsong, Casting Crowns, Jesus Culture.

I like a lot of current pop – yes, I have become a Belieber, among others LOL.

In fact, I have some of everything EXCEPT soca, which is, let’s just say, my least favorite type of music.   😉

So I honestly do not have one soca song on my poddy, nor is it likely that I ever will have one.  (judge me if you like lol)

I guess my most interesting playlist is one I named My Ultimate Cardio Mix.   That’s the one I use most  for my intense cardio workouts and it is an eclectic mix of mostly rock, but not only…

Here is the playlist:

Seven Nation Army – White Stripe

Zombie – The Cranberries

The Devil Went Down To Georgia – Charlie Daniels Band

Firestarter – Prodigy

Smack my Bitch Up – Prodigy

Chaiyya Chaiyya – not sure of the artist; I discovered it in ‘Inside Man’ with Denzel Washington

Welcome To The Jungle – Guns’n Roses

Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve

Cult of Personality – Living Color

Nothing Else Matters – Metallica

Enter Sandman – Metallica

One – Metallica

Toxicity – System of a Down

I love to sing along – and, no, I do not sing well, but I am unfazed and undeterred by that fact. LOL  I can often be caught singing in my car or out loud at the gym.  I love to dance and I will move my feet anywhere too.  😉

7ef327c003e540e0436b5bbf0d754a38Music is one of the safest types of ‘Highs’ and it can lift and soothe and set a spark to my spirits in an amazing way.   Good music doesn’t have an expiration date – it goes in your ears and flows straight into your heart.

Music is a gift from God – it is how we rejoice in worship and praise.

It is we celebrate life – it is what our feelings sound like.  

So let the music play on…

“Oh, come, let us sing to the Lord! Give a joyous shout in honor of the Rock of our salvation!”

Psalm 95: 1 TLB

“David, ceremonially dressed in priest’s linen, danced with great abandon before God.”

2 Samuel 6: 14 MSG

Leave a Reply

