missing you…

Day 12 –  Something you miss.

Today’s blog challenge topic is something you miss.  I’ve tried long and hard to think of something I miss.   I came up with a few possibilities after a while,  but it really hit me that there isn’t any thing that I truly miss.

I realized I don’t miss things.   I miss the memories around them or the way they made me feel.

What I really miss is people.   I miss my  Dad.   I miss my sister.   I miss my brother.   They have passed away from this life and I miss having them with me.   I miss being able to see, smell and talk to them.  I miss my Uncle Sedley and my Uncle D.

But I especially miss my Dad.   Oh, how I miss his voice.   His smile.   His eyes.   I miss the way he made me feel loved.  Valued beyond measure; special.   I miss the way he made me feel safe.   I miss the millions of ways he took care of me and our family.

I miss his singing in the car.   I miss his whistling.  He was such an amazing whistler.   I miss his laugh.   His grey, bushy, out-of-control eyebrows.   I miss the roughness on his chin that he would rub on our faces in the morning to drive us crazy.   I miss the way he’d sit so quietly with his eyes closed.   How peaceful he was.   And yet, I also miss seeing him race in and out of traffic, my heart in my throat,  as he rushed to some appointment he was late for, telling us the whole way that he wasn’t speeding.

I miss his picking me up from school or work.   I miss the way he would just fix things, no matter what it was.   You just had to call and he would fix it. Whatever problem you had.

I miss seeing his face when I’d walk out of the airport, poking his head up, looking with such anticipation for his first glimpse of me.   I miss his hugs.   I miss the way he had to put everything just so.   I miss his asking me to tell him something good.

I miss knowing he was always there to catch me.  I miss knowing he loved me and would love me no matter how I messed up.

I miss the way he loved my Mom.  Holy Moly, I have never seen a love so deep…

He taught me what love is.  He set the bar so high…

I miss his face.  I miss my Daddy.

That’s what I miss…

Dad

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13: 4-8 NIV

Leave a Reply

