The Daily Grind

Day 9 –  My Daily Routine.

117518434054da09cbb906aToday’s blog challenge topic has to be the least interesting,  lol.   Who will find anything interesting in my daily routine?   Oh well,  here goes:

My days start with my giving God my first 10% every morning.   So that means my mornings start with my Quiet Time.  Before I check my phone, look at emails, check Facebook and before I have a conversation with a human being, I spend time talking to God.  That looks like reading a few devotionals that I subscribe to and then my Bible Reading Plan on youversion.com.

That time spent in the Word and prayer is the most important part of my day and without it, my day is thrown completely off balance.   It gives me peace,  perspective,  and focus.   I try to discern what He is trying to tell me each day.   And I struggle to apply it.

It starts my day right, and gives me a clean heart and renewed spirit for my day.  I get up extra early to make time for what is absolutely the most important part of my day.

After that my work day starts.   On any given day, that could take me to several different appointments all over the tri-county area.  Some days, however, I work from home.  Either way, my work is always challenging and fun and requires that I juggle things all at once with focus and strategical thinking, while working one on one with people of varied cultural backgrounds, means, and personalities.  It requires me to use my relational skills well – I love it!

My evenings are usually my gym time.   I do weight training four to six days a week and cardio anywhere from three to five days per week, and most often lately, I go in the evenings.  Sometimes, like today, I have evening appointments and have to fit the gym in during the morning.

Anyway, fitness and exercise are critical for me.  Working out clears my head, re-centers me,  and gives me focus on disciplining my mind and my body.  The gym is where I leave the stress of the day behind – I call it leaving my demons on the floor – I slay those little critters that tried to derail me as I went about my day, like a beast!!!  🙂

After that I’m home preparing dinner and putting together meals for the next day.   I always make breakfast the night before and I prepare all the components of our lunch and snacks then too. It saves me time the next morning.  I just put the components together and pack it up and off we go.  That helps us to maintain a clean, healthy diet no matter where work takes us.

Typically we watch TV or a movie while we eat together and that’s our non-business-talk, couple time,  which we have to keep sacred, since we work together.   It’s super important to make the effort to keep that balance.

Now with this blog challenge, I either do the post on the morning of the post, after my quiet time or at night, the day before and schedule it to be published the next day.

Then it’s bed time.

As I started this post by saying, there is something about the word ‘routine’ that just sounds uninteresting. It implies the ‘same old, same old’ that just lacks any hint of energy or excitement.

The truth is, some days are loaded with fun interaction and great challenges and some days are filled with stress that saps your energy and strength.

Other days are just, well, routine.

I just try every morning to ask God to show me His purpose for me for that day and help me to live it well.

“Today is the day that You have made! Please help me to push away any negative emotions I have, help me to see this day as an opportunity to praise You and be used by You! I pray Lord, that I can be still today and just rest in You. I pray that I can spend time getting to know You deeper, lifting up my heart to You, and meditating on Your Word. I pray that my attitude will change, I pray that my worry and stress will disappear, and that Your peace overwhelms me! I pray that today I can fix my eyes on You, the author and perfecter of my faith, in Jesus’ name Amen!”

Prayer Reposted from The Unveiled Wife

Lord , in the morning You will hear my voice; in the morning I will direct my prayer to You, and I will watch expectantly.
Psalms 5:3 MEV

 

 

Hurry with your answer, God ! I’m nearly at the end of my rope. Don’t turn away; don’t ignore me! That would be certain death. If you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice, I’ll go to sleep each night trusting in you. Point out the road I must travel; I’m all ears, all eyes before you. Save me from my enemies, God — you’re my only hope! Teach me how to live to please you, because you’re my God. Lead me by your blessed Spirit into cleared and level pastureland.
Psalm 143:7-10 MSG

Leave a Reply

