Life Is Just For Living…

Day 8 – My Bucket List…

Well, when I started to prepare for this blog challenge topic for today, I took a look online at what other people’s bucket list items were, and it occurred to me that most of the things that are NOT on my bucket list are due to a fear I have.

Go skydiving ~ don’t be ridiculous!   I’m petrified of heights!   I don’t have any desire whatsoever to go bungee jumping, take a ride on some insane roller coaster, I do not want to go diving with the sharks or cage-dive with crocodiles – pretty much if it involves some kind of ‘thrill’,  I am not interested.

So, I guess overcoming my fears SHOULD BE number one on my bucket list – but errm, nope! No thanks! smiley1

So what things ARE on my Bucket List?

b7cdd4c67669daa8add6fe1e562bcf9d1.  Well, the number one thing I have always wanted to do, and must do before I die, is visit Ireland with my cousin, Peta-Gaye Nash.  Our ancestors are Irish and I have always been fascinated by the country and the culture.

Peta-Gaye is an accomplished writer and I aspire to be one.   🙂  So, my dream has long been to sit in an Irish Pub with her and soak up the folklore, the stories and the culture.

To go for a walk down the lanes that my favorite author, Maeve Binchy, grew up in and see the backdrop that gave her so much inspiration.

Of course, that Irish ancestry means I’d like to sit in that pub with Peta-Gaye, or Peach, as I call her, and have a pint or two and get up to some kind of mischief.  The fact that I don’t drink anymore is a minor aside. 😉

I don’t care how old we are when we take this trip.   In fact, maybe the older we are, the better – we can be mischievous, flirtatious and even mildly inappropriate in the most harmless of ways (LOL).   Our ‘Last Lick’ as it were..

One day, right Peach?  

2.   Travel would definitely be at the top of my list though!  There are so many places I would love to visit!  Israel –  the Holy Land.  Walk the streets that Jesus walked…

Hawaii, The Pacific Islands, Europe, Russia, Africa – there are just so many…

3.   Some of the things on my Bucket List involve things I would love to do.  Things like swim with the dolphins – not sharks – dolphins.  You know – Flipper… 😉

Go whale watching…   Try paddle-boarding and some other outdoor type activities, so I can spend time drinking in nature while getting a good workout…

I’d love to spend a New Year’s Eve in Times Square with a crowd bristling with excitement and anticipation and energy.  I’d love to get all dressed up in fancy clothes and go to a masquerade ball…

Sounds simple and silly, but…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4.  Some of my Bucket List To-Do’s are just to make the time and take the time to drink in simple life pleasures, like go catch fireflies with my husband, sleep outdoors and look at the stars and talk about our dreams…

(I am a little bit of a romantic, I guess)

4.  Some are less simple, but meaningful.  I’d like to add to our family with a puppy – if I could ever get the Hubster to agree 🙂

Help someone else randomly, like secretly pay for the groceries of the person next in line at the register.

I’d love to get a teeny, weeny tattoo – something that I can easily cover up if I am not feeling it that day (lol), and something with a great deal of meaning to me…

1082116920And I’d love to have someone call me mommy…  That is a deeper issue and I will just leave it at that.

You know…  I guess, most of all, I’d like to actually do some of these things before…

Well, you know…  😉

After all… Life is just for living!7f8f8d8e7de0b27e840ffda5020d7806

“Well, I took all this in and thought it through, inside and out. Here’s what I understood: The good, the wise, and all that they do are in God’s hands—but, day by day, whether it’s love or hate they’re dealing with, they don’t know.

Anything’s possible. It’s one fate for everybody—righteous and wicked, good people, bad people, the nice and the nasty, worshipers and non-worshipers, committed and uncommitted. I find this outrageous—the worst thing about living on this earth—that everyone’s lumped together in one fate. Is it any wonder that so many people are obsessed with evil? Is it any wonder that people go crazy right and left? Life leads to death. That’s it.

Seize Life!

 Still, anyone selected out for life has hope, for, as they say, “A living dog is better than a dead lion.” The living at least know something, even if it’s only that they’re going to die. But the dead know nothing and get nothing. They’re a minus that no one remembers. Their loves, their hates, yes, even their dreams, are long gone. There’s not a trace of them left in the affairs of this earth.

 Seize life! Eat bread with gusto,
Drink wine with a robust heart.
Oh yes—God takes pleasure in your pleasure!
Dress festively every morning.
Don’t skimp on colors and scarves.
Relish life with the spouse you love
Each and every day of your precarious life.
Each day is God’s gift. It’s all you get in exchange
For the hard work of staying alive.
Make the most of each one!
Whatever turns up, grab it and do it. And heartily!
This is your last and only chance at it,
For there’s neither work to do nor thoughts to think
In the company of the dead, where you’re most certainly headed.”

Ecclesiastes 9: 1-10 MSG

Leave a Reply

