Kindness Revolution

Day Six  – Your Last Random Act of Kindness

 

b36c1aa1a074332cdea2a55076bc92c7Well, I have struggled with this one.  I struggle because I don’t think I’m really a person who does random acts of kindness very often.  I think anyone would agree that I am a kind person – but I know I can also be a selfish person.  And  I don’t think I am a huge doer of things to brighten someone’s day out of the blue very often.

I mean – I help people when asked.  And I always try to encourage others and build them up – that I do for sure.

But random acts of kindness?  I’m not so sure.

 

I think the last time I remember, it was such a non-event.  I mean – anyone would have done it.  I was in line at Dunkin’ Donuts and a college-age girl was ahead of me at the register, buying a coffee, but her card was declined.  She started to tell the cashier it was okay and give back the cup of coffee and I stepped forward and paid for it.  She tried to say it was okay, not necessary, yadda yadda yadda.  And so I told her not to be silly and to just pass on the blessing to someone else in the future.  No big deal, right?

When I think of random acts of kindness, though,  I think of someone going out of their way so extraordinarily or doing something so generous or unexpected that it blows your mind.

I’ve seen random acts of kindness.  I’ve been overwhelmed by people’s random, undeserved acts of kindness.  

I have been the mind-blown recipient of random acts of kindness.  

And it has inspired and changed me each time.

I don’t mean to minimize small things by any means .  There are people who have done what they probably think are small, simple things for me or my family – things they think anyone would do – that I know few people would do.

Things they have done without any major ‘ask’ – they just see a need, feel that they have been blessed and want to bless others, or just because they have such a basic, elemental yet full-bodied compassion and caring for others, that they just do them.

These people have touched me in ways that I don’t really have words to explain.  They have made such a tremendous impact on me and they inspire me every day to try to be a better person.  To try to be a more compassionate person, a more self-less person.  A person who doesn’t think about being the hands and feet of God – who just IS the hands and feet of God.  These are the people I think of when I think about random acts of kindness.

Each of these people has blessed me and my family in ways so unexpected, so unwarranted and undeserved, in ways that are so overwhelming – and I just want to say to them:

Thank You.

You don’t know how much what you have done or do every day means to me.  No matter how big or small you see it – I see it as a tremendous blessing.  I am thankful for you.  I am inspired by you.

You know who you are… And I think you are amazing…

I tagged some of these amazing folk on Facebook if you want to see a few of the amazing people who rock my world and send them a High Five for being so awesome  🙂

Find Me On Facebook Here   Send me a friend request, even…

So I thought, why not start a kindness revolution?  If you and I and everyone we know tried to do just ONE random act of kindness this month – just ONE… It would be revolutionary!  Think about it…  And if you tried to do one a week – well…

We would have more than a revolution on our hands!  smiley

randomactsofkindness1So if you decide to join me, I would like to give you a printable for a gift tag that you can use on a simple brown or white paper bag filled with some cookies, a gift card for coffee or dinner, movie tickets or whatever, or with candy – jeez!  Whatever you can think of and can afford to put in that gift bag will be a huge ray of light in the life of the unexpecting someone you hand it to randomly.

They’re called R.A.O.K Tags and you just have to print out a bunch of them and give some love-filled, God-Inspired kindness out into the world!

What do you say?  Want to join me?

Leave me a comment or email me at nicki@nickiriettie.com and I will send you the printable in a PDF file.

Come on, guys – let’s do this!  Let’s change the world in this small, simple, impactful way.

 Whaddya say?

e5d36a6dec7605173d3694d22824478eHere is a link to some ideas for all kinds of random acts of kindness that you can do anytime too:

109 Ideas for Random Acts of Kindness

 

But when you do a kindness to someone, do it secretly—don’t tell your left hand what your right hand is doing.  

Matthew 6: 3 TLB

 

But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,   Galatians 5: 22 TLB

 

But though I appreciate your gifts, what makes me happiest is the well-earned reward you will have because of your kindness.  Philippians 4: 17 TLB

3 thoughts on “Kindness Revolution

Leave a Reply

